Tags

I watched Inception (directed by Christopher Nolan of The Prestige and The Dark Knight fame) yesterday. My curiousity was so heightened by the mixed reviews that I just had to see it and judge for myself. And oh my god- I love it.

Some may call the plot contrived, but I find its premises about dreams and invasion of the mind utterly ingenious. In true Nolan style, certain scenes had me on the edge of my seat, but the real surprise is that they weren’t only action sequences. For example, I was dying to see a particular memory of Cobb’s (Leonardo DiCaprio) about his wife’s death, that he’d locked away in the deepest recesses of his mind. A particular dream involving an elevator that travels to different levels, representing various memories, reminded me vividly of a similar one I had before. Inception addresses the entanglement of dreams, memories and the subconscious with real life. At the end, so many layers of dreams had taken place that, like Cobb, I didn’t know if what I was witnessing was real anymore. For all its suspense, the final shot was perhaps the most breathtaking (I don’t want to spoil it).

