I’ve been watching a good deal of films and tv shows this winter break. Happily I can add 3 titles to my list of favourite movies- In the Mood for Love, Winter’s Bone and Jane Eyre (the most recent adaptation, directed by Cary Fukunaga). I have serious respect for directors and actors. Their job requires a delicate blend of skill, experience, instinct and personal vision.

I was surprised to find out that Mia Wasikowska is only a year older than me. She exudes a strong sense of self-awareness which is all the more apparent in her role as Jane. I wonder how actors transport themselves into a character who is from a different culture and background. There must be something in the character that they can identify with. In this case Jane’s assertion that “I must respect myself” really resonated with me. I think that notion is sadly absent in current culture. There are women who would give up anything for a man they love, even their sense of worth. I do believe that one should not compromise one’s ideals and values in a relationship.

There are many other instances of riveting dialogue in the film, such as when Rochester says “you are not naturally austere, any more than I am naturally vicious”. I think it’s wonderful when two hurt souls, victims of circumstances, find love and redemption in each other. It’s not just about finding a partner, but also rediscovering one’s true self. I think it is even more powerful because Michael Fassbender, who utters it, possesses a natural magnetic presence.

Did I mention that I really like the poster? It’s clean and striking with a more modern feel. It reflects the directorial decision to keep the shots in the film simple, which worked because I did not feel bored at all with the conversations by the fireplace between Jane and Rochester.

Lastly, I love the poetic feel of this screenshot. It reminds me of a blend of an Alma Tadema and Wilhelm Hammershoi painting. So beautiful.

