Hiroshima mon Amour by Alain Resnais

I was introduced to this via French New Wave director Resnais’ other masterpiece, Last Year at Marienbad. More on both later.

Brief Encounter

Never thought I could enjoy a black-and-white film until I watched this. I must say the lack of colour actually intensifies the brooding atmosphere.

Rear Window by Alfred Hitchcock

My first Hitchcock film, and I relished the experience tremendously. I feel like it represents a dying genre of film- not sure what to call it. Crime? Detective story? Both sound too simplistic to describe his work. The time lapse sequence is an astonishing feat of filmmaking.

Tokyo Monogatari/ Tokyo Story by Yasujiro Ozu

Tokyo Story presents a stark contrast to the action-packed blockbusters in today’s cinemas. Some might find it slow and boring, but it touched me with its intimacy and realism. Excited to check out other Ozu films, especially those with leading lady Setsuko Hara.

