“I remembered that the real world was wide, and that a varied field of hopes and fears, of sensations and excitments, awaited those who had the courage to go forth into it’s expanse, to seek real knowledge of life amidst it’s perils.”

I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”

“Mr. Rochester, I no more assign this fate to you than I grasp at it for myself.  We were born to strive and endure – you as well as I: do so.  You will forget me before I forget you.”

I’d previously imagined Jane Eyre to be a somewhat staid classic in the spirit of Jane Austen novels, whereby schemes about marriage seem to be the main focus. After reading it though, I’m amazed by the strength and enduring quality of the protagonist’s voice. Her self-will is evident even in her simplest observations which are astonishing. I greatly admire the way she counters Mr Rochester’s physical dominance with wit, intellect and mental power, asserting her superiority and influence over him. Jane Eyre, and her creator Charlotte Bronte, are truly women ahead of their times.

