http://goop.com/journal/see/178/food-hero-seamus-mullen

You’ll notice that the book isn’t so much about cutting out as it is adding in. Most of the diets I read about were elimination diets, which I find very exclusive. I wanted this book to be much more inclusive. Simply from a philosophical position, there is something inherently more positive about embracing rather than rejecting.

For the past year or so I’ve been moving towards a vegan diet. Occasionally I do eat eggs, fish and seafood, and consume milk in drinks like coffee. Do I feel ‘deprived’? Surprisingly, no. I guess I just lost the taste for things like chicken, pork, beef, lamb, duck etc. and cheese. One time I tried chicken again and it just tasted rubbery to me. Besides, veganism opened the doors to a plethora of delicious plant-based options. I’ve never enjoyed so much luscious fruit before. The clean crispness of fresh vegetables is a delightful palate-cleanser, and mushrooms add an earthy, complex flavour to any dish. I’ve also explored other grains/ seeds like quinoa and barley. My senses feel totally awakened by visits to different Farmers’ Markets, a new hobby of mine. That’s why I love the quote above- I see veganism as not a diet of exclusion but a lifestyle; a philosophy of embracing the natural, wholesome goodness and sheer variety of fresh produce.

